Navigation

I’m not entirely certain what sort of posts are wanted on this blog… but I thought some SWOP folk might be interested in this post I wrote for my own blog. It is about how I go about locating local SIs

A Very Fine Library

Yesterday I was searching for an old Statutory Instrument. It was only of local interest – so not re-printed in the official volume… I love this sort of enquiry!

The Urr Navigation Order 1901

I would usually expect to find copies of such items in my Very Fine Library. However, our collection of these local SIs only dates from 1930.  Next step, check the National Archives of Scotland. Their catalogue showed two items that might have been what I wanted but it was uncertain. I passed this info to my enquirer so he could go and look for himself… but this was an unsatisfying result for me. No fun.

These local SIs – by their very nature – are of local interest only (the clue’s in the title). Copies would usually be lodged with local council offices. The problem is, due to multifarious reformations of local government through the…

View original post 150 more words

2 thoughts on “Navigation

  1. This is a very intersting BLOG entry and I think relevant to SWOP members Jane. Good to see how you tracked down the elusive SI not reprinted. Will you give me a copy of it to add to our collection please?

    Like

Comments are closed.